Games & Sports

Who will win ICC Cricket World Cup 2011?

Much awaited ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 has been formally inaugurated after colorful and animated ceremony in Dhaka, Bangladesh. According to estimates ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 would be most watched sports event after FIFA World Cup 2010 and will be broadcast in 220 countries.

14 cricket teams are participating in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011; divided into 2 groups: Group A and Group B. Each group has 7 teams playing against each other. Four teams from each pool will advance into second round based on knockout system. In knockout round, teams will play four quarter finals as follows (A1 will play B4, A2 will play B3, A3 will play B2 and B1 will A4); in next round winners of first quarterfinal will meet winner of third quarterfinal in first semifinal and winner of second quarter final will meet winner of fourth quarter final in second semi-final. Final will be played in Mumbai on April 2, 2011.

Different analysts are giving different names for winning the World Cup, some are saying India will win and some are saying Australia. We have analyzed six teams below, who are performing well in last year and have very good chances to win the world cup.

Australia, the team who has been unbeaten for 29 matches in last three World Cups and is also winner of last three World Cups. Cricket pundits are really skeptic about the future prospects of Australia in the World Cup, they are saying after the retirement of super stars like McGrath, Shane Warne, Adam Gilchrist and Matthew Hayden their chances to win are lesser. Another minus point of Australia is their inability to tackle quality spin bowling, which was evident in their first warm match against India; they were bundled out on 176 runs, while chasing 215 runs.

“Pakistan is just like Rugby Team of France, you can expect anything from them” [Shaun Pollock] Pakistan is the most unpredictable and most dangerous team of the world. Pakistan always perform well, when no one is expecting from them ( Just recall World Cup 1992 and Twenty World Cup 2009). Pakistan has a fair chance to win the World Cup, because they have one of the best spin attack and good hitters like Abdur Razzaq,Shahid afridi ,who can turn the match on their day,and they also have experienced middle order in the form of Misbah and Younis Khan.

South Africa
Like always, South Africa is also favorite for ICC Cricket World Cup 2011. South Africa has very good top and middle bat order scoring runs consistently, but still like Australia, Pakistan has problems while facing spin bowling. However players have very good pace and spin attack who can trouble any team on their day. I see South Africa at least in Semi-Finals.

Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka in my opinion has best chance to win ICC Cricket World Cup 2011. Sri Lanka has a very lethal spin bowling attack in the form of Mendis and great Murlitharan. Batting line up includes SankaKarra and Jayawardne, who arguably are best players of spin bowling in the world. So Sril Lanka will definitely qualify for finals.

India is one of the favorites for ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 and it has one of the most formidable batting line up. Many Cricket experts are really upbeat about their chances in the World Cup, because they have good batting line up and they are familiar with the conditions. However I don’t see India beyond Semi-Final stage because Indian team cant handle pressure in big games and any team who can play spinners well, will really create trouble for India big time.

There are not many people who are giving any chance to Bangladesh, but after winning 4-0 against Kiwis, they are feeling very confident about this ICC Cricket World Cup 2011. Bangladeshi team has not super stars but they are very dangerous team, I see this team at least in Quarterfinal stage.

About the author

Emaad Qureshi

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *