Pak Affairs Politics

Gilani appreciates political leadership for continuous support

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani has appreciated the political leadership of the country for their continuous support and sagacious guidance on different occasions. In-camera briefing on Swat and IDPs situation here on Friday under the chairmanship of Prime Minister Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani.

He said the in-camera meeting has been organized to take the political leadership of the country into confidence on the real situation and answer their questions on the necessity of army action in Swat and the issue of IDPs. The Prime Minister said the country is at the crossroads of its history as militants are trying to impose their will through coercive measures.

He said the government had tried to resolve all issues democratically and peacefully. We had evolved a new strategy of 3-Ds to deal with the situation and Swat peace agreement was endorsed in the same spirit. He, however, regretted that sincere efforts of the Government to bring peace in the area were taken as its weakness. He said instead of decommissioning themselves, as agreed, the militants started challenging the whole system of governance and started spreading their influence to other parts of the country as well.

The Prime Minister said having exhausted all political and peaceful means, the government was left with no other option but to call in the armed forces to take stern action against the miscreants. The armed forces are carrying on the operation with full commitment and high degree of operational professionalism.

He said the army operation is not the permanent solution to the problem and political dimensions need to be incorporated to reach out consensus for guaranteeing lasting peace in the disturbed areas. He assured that the input of the meeting along with the suggestions and observations from the forthcoming APC will be incorporated in the national security policy to deal with the situation.

The briefing is attended by PML (N) Quaid Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif; Parliamentary Leader JUI(F)Maulana Fazl-ur-Rehman; Chief Minister Punjab Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif; Parliamentary Leader PML(Q) Ch. Pervaiz Elahi; Parliamentary Leader MQM Dr. Muhammad Farooq Sattar; Leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly Ch. Nisar Ali Khan; Parliamentary Leader PPP-(S) Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao; Parliamentary Leader FATA Munir Khan Aurakzai; Parliamentary Leader BNP(Awami) in the Senate Mir Israr Ullah Zehri; Governor NWFP Owais Ahmad Ghani; Chief Minister NWFP Amir Haider Khan Hoti; Federal Ministers Syed Khurshid Ahmad Shah, Babar Awan, Raja Parvez Ashraf, Qamar Zaman Kaira; ANP leader Muhammad Zahid Khan; Chairman Parliamentary Committee on National Security, Senator Mian Raza Rabbani; Minister of State for Economic Affairs Hina Rabbani Khar; PML(F) leader Pir Sadr Uddin Shah; Chief of Army Staff General Ashfaq Pervaiz Kayani; Coordinator Special Support Group Lt. Gen. Nadeem Ahmad; DG Coordination ISI Maj. Gen. Muhammad Zaheer ul Islam and DG Military Operations Maj. Gen. Javed Iqbal. NNI

About the author

Omer Azam

Omer Azam is Social Media Marketer, very active on propeller; he is very much interested in International Politics.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *