Naek elected unopposed Senate Chairman

ISLAMABAD: Farooq H. Naek of Pakistan Peoples Party has been elected unopposed Chairman of the Senate while Jaan Muhammad Jamali of PML (Q) has been elected unopposed Deputy Chairman of the Upper House. No other candidate filed nomination papers for the both seats in the prescribed time and Secretary of the Senate after scrutiny of nomination papers declared them elected unopposed.

The Senate began its special session in the Parliament House this morning. Senator Tahir Hussain Mashhadi who has been appointed as presiding officer by the President for the current session is chairing. He administered oath to the newly elected members of the upper House. Later the members signed roll of members.

Speaking before administering oath, the Presiding Officer congratulated the newly elected members and hoped that with the elections of the Senate, democracy has been strengthened and it would continue to flourish. He asked the Advisor on Interior to make sure presence of the Senators in the House in all sessions and in future no body should be detained without taking due course of law and procedures.

With the election of fifty senators, People’s Party has been emerged as major parliamentary party in the upper with 27 seats followed by PML (Q) with 21 while JUI (F) has ten Senators and MQM and ANP have six senators each. PML(N) has seven seats while Jamat-e-Islami and BNP have three seats each while PKMAP, JUP, PML(F) and People’s Party(S) have one seat each in the upper House.-SANA

About the author

Mubashar Nizam

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *