20 C
Wednesday, June 23, 2021

PPP gets lead in Senate elections

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img

ISLAMABAD: The ruling quarters emerged with overwhelming majority in upper house of the parliament. The senate elections were concluded Wednesday against 19 vacant seats leading Pakistan Peoples Party as major party in the house. According to initial results of Election Commission of Pakistan, PPP candidates won two seats from Islamabad.

Afrasiyab Khattak (Awami National Party) and Adnan Khattak (PPP) were elected as senator securing 55 and 45 votes on two seats for technocrats from NWFP assembly.

The votes held today in National Assembly, NWFP and Balochistan assembly.

An independent candidate Ali Gohar got 14 while Iqbal Zafar Jhagra (PML-N) secured 9 votes.

Total 34 candidates from Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) contested for four seats of the Upper House.

Engr Rashid Ahmed and Abbas Khan secured eight votes each of nine votes cast with Abbas Khan and Haji Khan Afridi getting six votes each.

Dr Iftikhar Zafar, Bismillah Khan, Abdul Malik Qadri, Fakhar Zaman Khan, Abdul Salam Sherani, Abdul Wadood, Ghulam Haider Wazir, Qismat Khan Qazir secured one vote each.

Other 18 candidates could not secure even a single vote. And as only 11 members were to cast their votes, the polling was held in committee room of Parliament House.

The newly elected members from Balochistan assembly include four independent candidates, three from PPP, two from Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam, one each from National Party and Balochistan National Party (BNP) Awami, while the PPP has got its members elected in Punjab and Sindh assembly previously.-SANA

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img
Latest news
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related news
- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here