17.7 C
Wednesday, August 4, 2021

PHF announces women hockey team

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img

LAHORE: Pakistan Hockey Federation Selection Committee has announced 18 member Pakistan Junior Women Hockey Team for 6th Women Asia Cup Hockey Tournament, being held in Malaysia. Tournament will be played from 13th to 21st December in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia; however, nine teams are divided in to two pools as Pakistan, Japan, Malaysia, China and Thailand are in pool “A”, while pool “B” comprises on Korea, India, Singapore and Chinese Taipei.

Chief Selector Hassan Sardar along with other members of selection committee and Secretary PHF Women Wing Parveen Sikander Gill announced the team in a press conference at Hockey Club of Pakistan Stadium Karachi.

Parveen Gill said that, we did not received the invitation to participate in this tournament, but by the efforts of President PHF Qasim Zia and Secretary Asif Bajwa Pakistan Women Junior team is now going to participate in the event. “During the tournament, we will talk to the officials of Singapore, China and Malaysia regarding tours”. She added.

Team will leave for Malaysia on 10th December. Pakistan will play its first match on 13th December against Thailand, second match on 14th December against Japan, third match on 17th December against Malaysia and fourth pool match on 18th December against China. While, semi finals and classification matches will be played on 20th and final and position matches will be held on 21st December.

The selected 18 players are; Goal Keepers: Rizwana and Imrana, full backs are Sehrish Ghumman (captain), Nadia Kazim (vice captain) and Zaib Unisa, half backs are Munaza Irum, Zakia Nawaz, Shahida Ghulam, Asma Ashraf, Nain Tara and Mumtaz Malik; however the name of the forwards are Hina Kanwal, Nazia Rehmat, Muqadas Akbar, Gulshan Tahira, Aisha Bashir, Bushra Nazir and Saman Islam and stand byes players are Bismillah, Sana, Sahira, Aisha Rafiq, Rozina and Madiha.

However the names of the team officials are Muhammad Akhlaq Ahmad (Coach), Chand Parveen and Muhammad Parvez (Assistant Coaches), Parveen Sikander Gill (Manager), Fiza Naureen (Physio), Rahat Khan (Umpire).-SANA

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img
Latest news
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related news
- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here