Pak Affairs Politics

Zardari 7th president who addresses parliament

ISLAMABAD: Asif Ali Zardari is the seventh President of Pakistan addressing the joint session of the Parliament, following former President Ziaul Huque, Ghulam Ishaque Khan, Faruque Laghari, Rafiq Tarar and Pervez Musharraf.

According to a private TV channel Gen. Ziaul Huque was the first President, who had addressed the joint session of the Parliament for four times on December 30, 1985, July 8, 1986, April 19, 1987 and April 7, 1988. Former President Ghulam Ishaque Khan addressed the joint session of Parliament five times on December 14, 1988, December 2, 1989, November 8, 1990, December 19, 1991 and December 22, 1992.

Wasim Sajjad is the first acting President of the country, who addressed the Parliament on October 27, 1993. Fruque Laghari addressed the Parliament three times on November 14, 1994, October 29, 1995 and March 26, 1997.

Ragique Tarar twice on February 23, 1998 and March 11, 1999.
Pervez Musharraf in his eight years of rule addressed the Parliament only once on January 17, 2004.

The members of the Parliament had resorted to voicing slogans and rowdy scenes were seen during the addresses of former Presidents, Ghulam Ishaque, Faruque Laghari and Pervez Musharraf.-SANA

About the author

Noreen Gill

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *