PML-N steps in cabinet

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N) has rejoined the cabinet after an agreement with Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) on President Musharraf’s impeachment and restoration of judiciary pre Nov-3rd. In the first step total four PML-N members will rejoin the cabinet as Ahsan Iqbal will be Minister of Education, Sardar Mehtab Abbasi Minister of Railway, Khawaja Saad Rafiq Minister of Culture and Youth and Rana Tanveer Hussain Minister of Defence production.

Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N) resigned from federal cabinet in central executive committee meeting on May 12, 2008. The decision was taken after several rounds of talks with PPP on judges restoration issued that proved to be failed. In a meeting held in London Federal ministers of the N league reached to attend the meeting without official car and other privileges.

On that day Pakistan Muslim League-N Chief Nawaz Sharif announced to quit the Federal Cabinet by tendering resignations to the Prime Minister. Addressing a press conference after the meeting of the PML-N’s Central Working Committee, he said: “PPP failed to keep its promise and that is why we have decided to part ways with the coalition government.” You know very well by now that no breakthrough could be achieved on the issue of restoration of deposed judges after holding marathon negotiations with the Pakistan People’s Party.

However things are taking new shape in recent round of talks.

About the author

Rubab Saleem

Rubab Saleem is Editor of Pakistan Times

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *