16.1 C
Saturday, July 24, 2021

Sindh MPAs takes oath

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img

KARACHI: Amid stern security measures, the newly elected members of the Sindh Assembly took oath on Saturday in the session summoned by Sindh Governor Dr Ishratul Ebad at the Assembly Building. Outgoing Speaker Syed Muzaffar Hussain Shah administered the oath to 161 members of the house.

The PPP strength in the House is 89; the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) has 51 members, PML-F 9, Q-League 8, while the NPP and the ANP have 2 seats each. The second session of the Provincial Assembly would be held on Monday (tomorrow) for the election of the speaker, deputy speaker and leader of the house, the chief minister.

Candidates for speaker and deputy speaker slots would get the nomination papers at 4:00 pm on Saturday. The nomination papers would be filed and scrutinized on Sunday and final list of the candidates would be issued. The PPP has nominated Nisar Khuhro for the slot of the speaker and Syed Qaim Ali Shah for the chief ministership. Governor of Sindh Dr. Ishratul Ebad would administer oath to the newly elected chief minister on Tuesday and he would take vote of confidence from the assembly on the same day.-SANA

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img
Rubab Saleemhttp://www.rubabsaleem.com
Rubab Saleem is Editor of Pakistan Times
Latest news
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related news
- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here