Election 2008 Pak Affairs

Yousa Raza Gilani takes oath as Prime Minister

ISLAMABAD: President Pervez Musharraf administered oath to Prime Minister Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani Tuesday. The presidentadministered oath to the country’s 22nd prime minister at the Aiwan-e-Sadr at a grand ceremony attended by prominent political leaders from across the divide.

The event was also attended by National Assembly Speaker Fehmida Mirza, Deputy Speaker Faisal Karim Kundi, outgoing caretaker Prime Minister Mohammadmian Soomro, governors of all the provinces, First Lady Begum Sehba Musharraf, Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee Gen Tariq Majid, Chief of Army Staff Gen Ashfaq Parvaiz Kayani, Chief of Naval Staff Admiral M Afzal Tahir, Chief of Air Staff Air Chief Marshal Tanveer Mahmood and Chief Justice Abdul Hameed Dogar.

The oath-taking ceremony started with the recitation from the Holy Quran. Yousaf Raza Gilani was invited to take oath of prime minister’s office as provided in the Third Schedule, under the 1973 constitution. Under the constitution, Yousaf Raza Gilani now has to obtain a vote of confidence from the National Assembly within a period of 60 days.

Gilani presented guard of honour at PM House
ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani on Tuesday was presented guard of honour on arrival at the Prime Minister House, after he took oath as country’s new Prime Minister.

National anthem of the country was played. A smartly turned out contingent of armed forces presented salute to the prime minister. The prime minister reviewed the parade and later met the staff at the PM House. It may be mentioned here that caretaker prime minister Muhammadmian had not shifted to the Prime Minister House and had instead preferred to stay in a house in sector F-7/3.-SANA

About the author

Rubab Saleem

Rubab Saleem is Editor of Pakistan Times

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *