14 C
Friday, June 25, 2021

Dr Fehmida Mirza elected NA speaker, Faisal Kundi Deputy Speaker

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img

ISLAMABAD: Dr. Fehmida Mirza and Faisal Karim Kundi, candidates of Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and allied parties for the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly respectively took oath of their offices after being elected with big margin through secret ballot in the Parliament House here on Wednesday.

The outgoing Speaker National Assembly Chaudhry Amir Hussain administered the oath of office to the new Speaker Dr. Fehmida Mirza, the 18th and first ever female Speaker of the House in Pakistan’s history, who later administered the oath of office to the new Deputy Speaker Faisal Karim Kundi. Dr Fehmida Mirza received 249 out of 324 votes, of which 319 were valid and five votes were declared invalid. Asrar Tareen, the opposition candidate, received 70 votes.

Faisal Karim Kundi bagged 246 votes defeating of MQM’s Khush Bakht Shujat, who received 68, in the election of the Deputy Speaker. The outgoing Speaker National Assembly Chaudhry Amir Hussain congratulated the new Speaker and hoped that she will run the House with her best abilities. He hoped the new Assembly would play an effective role in legislation for the benefit of the country and promotion of democracy.

In her brief remarks the newly elected Speaker said that she would run the House impartially and give equal opportunities to all members irrespective of their loyalties. Dr. Fehmida Mirza expressed the confidence that both treasury and opposition members would extend their full cooperation to her in running the House smoothly.-SANA

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img
Rubab Saleemhttp://www.rubabsaleem.com
Rubab Saleem is Editor of Pakistan Times
Latest news
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related news
- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here