20.7 C
Tuesday, July 27, 2021

Polls on Bhutto’s constituency, 3 other provincial seats terminated

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img

ISLAMABAD: Election Commission of Pakistan has informed that due to death of former Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto, a contesting candidate from Constituency NA-207 Larkana, election has been terminated on that constituency. Polls on three provincial assembly seats, two from NWFP and one from Punjab, have also been terminated due to death of the candidates in those constituencies.The Secretary, Election Commission of Pakistan has informed that due to death of Nasir Mahmood Sandhu, a contesting candidate from PP-99 Gujranwala-IX, the Returning Officer concerned has terminated the proceedings relating to election to that constituency.

Similarly, elections have also been terminated on two NWFP Assembly seats PF-59 Battagram-I and PF-81 Swat II due to the death of Alhaaj Muhammad Ayaz Khan and Mian Gul Asfandyar Ameer Zeb on these constituencies respectively. Secretary EC said that fresh proceedings will commence after election schedule for the said constituencies is announced by the Election Commission, in due course of time and in due process of law. The Secretary has further clarified that it shall not be necessary for the remaining contesting candidates to file fresh nomination papers or make further deposit under Section 13 of the Act.-SANA

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_img
Rubab Saleemhttp://www.rubabsaleem.com
Rubab Saleem is Editor of Pakistan Times
Latest news
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related news
- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here