Pak Affairs Politics

Seat adjustment between PML (Q) MQM, PML (F), NPP to defeat PPP

KARACHI: In order to defeat Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) in the upcoming general elections, Pakistan Muslim League (Q), the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), Pakistan Muslim League Functional and National Peoples Party Tuesday made seat to seat adjustment on all seats of National and Provincial Assembly in Sindh including Karachi.

This was announced here in a press conference by former chief minister Sindh and president PML (Q) Sindh Dr Arbab Ghulam Rahim, deputy convener MQM Farooq Sattar and Senator Babar Khan Ghouri. Arbab Rahim said that the seat adjustment has been made for defeating the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP). As per details, the MQM candidates will be supported by the PML (Q), the PML (F) and the NPP on 22 of the 61 national assembly seats while the MQM will support PML (Q), PML (F) and the NPP on 34 seats.

The remaining five NA seats have been declared open where the candidates of all parties will contest with each other. These seats include NA-204 Larkana, NA-207 Qambar Shahdadkot, NA-218 Mattiari, NA-231-Jamshoro and NA-239 Karachi.

In the 130 constituencies of the Sindh Assembly, the PML (Q), the PML (F) and the NPP will support the MQM on 44 seats whereas the MQM will support the PML (Q), the PML (F) and the NPP on 71 seats. In the remaining 15 constituencies of the Sindh Assembly, contest will be held among the candidates of all the four parties and the candidates of the Pakistan Peoples Party, the Pakistan Muslim League (N) and the Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA).

Dr Farooq Sattar said that the MQM candidates from Karachi will contest for all the National and Provincial Assembly seats. He said that the PML (Q), the PML (F) and the NPP will withdraw their candidates in favour of the MQM from the two National Assembly and four Provincial Assembly seats in Hyderabad, one each in Mirpurkhas, PS-24 in Nawabshah and PS-1 in Sukkur while the MQM will withdraw its candidates in favour of the candidates of the PML (Q) and the PML (F) from all those constituencies where the vote bank of these parties is bigger than the MQM vote bank.-SANA

About the author

Rubab Saleem

Rubab Saleem is Editor of Pakistan Times

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *