Pak Affairs Politics

EC allots election symbols to political parties

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission on Sunday allotted election symbols to various political parties for contesting the upcoming general elections. The representatives of about 42 political parties registered with the Commission attended the meeting, presided by Chief Election Commissioner Justice (Retd) Qazi Muhammad Farooq. Pakistan Muslim League (Q) was allotted the symbol of bicycle, Pakistan Muslim League (N), lion and Pakistan Peoples Party arrow, while the decision to allot the symbol to MMA has been reserved by the Commission. Other parties and their election symbols are:

Pakhtoon Khwa Mili Awami Party: tree, PPP (Shaheed Bhutto): fist, PML (Functional): flower, Saraiki Movement Party: knife, Tameer-e-Pakistan Party: hammer, Balochistan National Party: camel, National Peoples Party: tractor, ANP: lantern, MQM: kite, Muslim League Alliance: fish, Pakistan Democratic Party: umbrella, Pakistan Gharib Party: chair, Pakistan Itehad Tehreek: butterfly, PPP (Sherpao): lamp, Sindh United Party: car, Badaar Pakistan Party: ship, Pakistan Citizens Movement: tower, Suni Tehreek: table lamp, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Inqalab Party: star, Pakistan Bachao Party: pen, Jammiat-e-Ulema Islam (Sami-ul-Haq Group), ladder, Azad Pakistan Party: cow, Pakistan Qaumi Party: turban, Pakistan Awami Party bulb and Tehreek-e-Istaqlal Pakistan: sickle.

Several political parties have applied for the same symbol and the Election Commission has adopted various procedures including draw for allotment of symbols.

About the author

Rubab Saleem

Rubab Saleem is Editor of Pakistan Times

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *