Pak Affairs

EC accepts nomination papers of Musharraf, Fahim, Wajih

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission has accepted the nomination papers of three main contestants President Pervez Musharraf, PPP Candidate Makhdoom Amin Fahim and Lawyers Community candidate (Retd) Justice Wajahee-ud-Din Ahmed for the Presidential Election. During the secrutiny of nomination papers held at Election Commission Secretariat in Islamabad today, the Chief Election Commissioner (Retd) Justice Qazi Muhammad Farooq rejected the papers of thirty eight out of forty-three candidates. The Commission also accepted the nomination papers of Chairman Senate Mohammadmian Soomro and Speaker National Assembly Chaudhary Amir Hussein who are covering candidates for the President. The nomination paper of Ms. Faryal Talpur who is a covering candidate of PPP has also been accepted.

Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz, along with the the PML President Chaudhary Shujaat Hussein, Secretary General Mushahid Hussein Syed, Chief Minister Punjab Chaudhary Pervez Elahi, Chief Minister Balochistan Jam Mohammad Yousaf and some Federal Ministers, were present in the Election Commission Secretariat proposers and seconders of the President during the scrutiny of the papers. Leader of the House in the Senate Waseem Sajjad as a proposer of the President , during the scrutiny, said that they have no objection on the papers of Makhdoom Amin Fahim, Retired Justice Wajheeuddin Ahmad and Faryal Talpur.

During the scrutiny Mr. Latif Khosa on behalf of PPP candidate Makhdoom Amin Fahim and Mr. Hamid Khan and (Retd) Justice Tariq Mehmood on behalf of Lawyers Community Candidate Retd Jutice Wajahee-ud-Ahmed raised various objections on the candidacy of General Pervez Musharraf. Mr. Wasim Sajjad replying to the objections said that the constitution under the 17th amendment allows the President to hold two offices and can contest the elections in uniform. He also referred the verdicts of the Supreme Court and said that there is no bar on General Pervez Musharraf to participate in the Prsidential elections for the second term. He said all the policies adopted by the government under the leadership of President Musharraf have strengthened the democracy and the democratic institutions.

Mr. Wasim Sajjad said the President has already made it clear that he will shed the uniform if re-elected as President before taking oath for the scond term. He said there should be no ambugity in his statement.The Chief Election Commissioner who conducted the scrutiny process after hearing the arguments from both sides, rejected all the objection raised by the opponent candidates.

During the preliminary scrutiny, the commission rejected the papers of various candidates. They include Syed Iqtidar Haider, Rao Javed Khan, Khurshid Anwar Qureshi, Shaukat Hussein, Moulana Mohammad Ayaz, Major Retired Ramzan, Dr. Fazl ur Rehman, M.B. Khan, Nawab Amber Shahzada, , Dr. Zahoor Mehdi, Ashfaq Chaudhary, Shahbaz Khan, Shahzada Sardar Mohammad Rafique, Aitbar Khan, Riaz Chandiyo, Khalid Iqbal, Muneza Asif, Nawab Ali, Syed Sakhawat Hussein, Engineer Abdullah, Amir Ali, Shakeel Hussein, Noushad Hussein, Azam Kamal, Nafees Ahmad, Syed Habib ullah, Iqbal Tiger, Haider Ali and others. Their papers were rejected as they were submitted without proposers and seconders.-SANA

About the author

Rubab Saleem

Rubab Saleem is Editor of Pakistan Times

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *